D13, Eext

This is a very special hunebed and unique in its kind. In the first place because D13 is still partly hidden under its barrow, and secondly because it is a so-called "stairs-grave". The entrance is on top of the hill. There used to be a 4 steps flight to get into the chamber. From the top all 6 side- and 2 endstones are visible. There is only one capstone left; two are missing. The tomb was excavated in 1756 by a Mr. Van Lier. He found 'many urns and stone axes'. Archaeologist Van Giffen did it again in 1927, but then all was gone.